I chose to shoot my video from the perspective of my newborn daughter, as this is what encompasses most of my days right now. It was really enlightening to shoot from her point of view, especially as I went back to watch it afterwards. No wonder she hates her swing! I felt dizzy just watching the video, and that view is borrrrrrring! My husband and I were just commenting the other night how we think she always has this stunned, confused look on her face, and now after watching this video, I know why! Her perspective is very overwhelming at times.

This was an interesting assignment for me because I assumed I knew what things look like from her view, but in reality, I had no idea what it’s truly like to be a baby. Her world is shaky and changes suddenly and she has no control over literally anything. I find it much easier now to truly empathize with her when she seems fussy for no reason. Perhaps she’s tired of moving, or just wants to be on the floor with minimal stimuli surrounding her, or wants something more interesting to look at than the ceiling. I’m really glad I chose this perspective for this project, though, because now maybe we can solve some of our fussy baby problems…

(Since I can’t upload a video without upgrading my WordPress, here is a link to it on YouTube.)

Two minutes…

